Skip to content

Coming soon. The store is not open yet.

FULL MEASUREDAILY ESSENTIALSVitamin D3DIETARY SUPPLEMENT2,000 IUper softgel100 SOFTGELS

About 3.6 in tall

Daily Essentials

Vitamin D3

Vitamin D3 2,000 IU100 softgels · 100 servings

  • 50 mcg (2,000 IU) vitamin D3 as cholecalciferol
  • One softgel a day
  • A 100-day supply

Coming soon

This product is not on sale yet.

One container is 100 servings: about 100 days at the label amount.

Contains: Soy (soybean oil).

  • The manufacturer's lab report covers strength, heavy metals and microbes. What that means

The whole label

What’s in it

Supplement Facts
Serving size 1 softgel capsule
Servings per container 100Not printed on the manufacturer's panel. Its product listing gives 100 softgels.
Amount per servingAmount% Daily Value
Vitamin D-3(as cholecalciferol)50 mcg (2,000 IU)250%
Other Ingredients:
Softgel (gelatin, glycerin, water), soybean oil, corn oil.
Form
Softgel
Contents
100 softgels
Servings
100 (1 softgel capsule each)
Lasts
About 100 days at the label amount
Manufactured in
USA, according to the manufacturer. Where the ingredients come from is not stated.
Allergens
Soy (soybean oil)
Manufacturer states
gluten-free

About the ingredients: Vitamin D

Directions

How to take it

Take one softgel a day with a meal.

Directions on the label

As a dietary supplement, adults take one (1) softgel capsule daily or as directed by a health care professional.

Label warnings

Keep out of reach of children. Do not use if the safety seal is damaged or missing. Store in a cool, dry place and away from direct light.

Graded honestly

What the evidence says

A softgel with 50 mcg (2,000 IU) of vitamin D3, the same form the skin makes in sunlight. Vitamin D helps the body absorb calcium and is needed for normal bones, muscles and immune function, and this dose reliably raises blood levels. In large trials of this exact dose, generally healthy adults who already had enough vitamin D gained no measurable extra benefit over placebo, so it is most useful for people who get too little vitamin D.

How it works

Vitamin D from sun, food or supplements is inactive at first. The liver turns it into 25-hydroxyvitamin D, the form measured in blood tests, and the kidneys turn that into an active hormone. The hormone tells the gut to absorb calcium and phosphate, the raw materials of bone. It also acts on muscle and immune cells, many of which carry vitamin D receptors. Fat in the gut helps vitamin D absorb, and this softgel is filled with oil.

The dose in this product

This product provides 50 mcg (2,000 IU) a day, the same daily dose tested in two major trials, VITAL and DO-HEALTH. The US recommended intake is 15 mcg (600 IU) a day for ages 1 to 70 and 20 mcg (800 IU) over 70, so one softgel is about three times the recommended amount and half the adult upper limit.

How that compares with the studies

VITAL gave 2,000 IU a day or placebo to 25,871 US adults (men 50 and over, women 55 and over) for a median of 5.3 years. It found no improvement in its main health outcomes, and no increase in high blood calcium or kidney stones. DO-HEALTH gave the same dose to 2,157 adults aged 70 and over for three years and found no significant benefit for blood pressure, physical performance or cognitive function.

Most people in these trials already had adequate vitamin D: in VITAL the average starting level was about 30 ng/mL. That is typical for the US. NIH's summary of 2011 to 2014 survey data puts 5% of Americans at risk of deficiency (below 12 ng/mL, or 30 nmol/L) and 18% at risk of inadequacy (12 to under 20 ng/mL), with deficiency risk highest among Black Americans at 17.5%.

Levels of 20 ng/mL (50 nmol/L) or more are considered adequate for most people, and levels above 50 ng/mL (125 nmol/L) are linked to possible harm. The 2024 Endocrine Society guideline suggests against taking vitamin D above the recommended intake for extra benefit in healthy adults under 75, and against routine blood testing. It suggests supplementation for children and teenagers, adults over 75 and pregnancy, without naming a dose.

Taken together: this dose is a sound way to correct or avoid low vitamin D, and for a healthy adult under 75 who already has enough, current guidance does not support taking this much for extra benefit.

  • Strong evidence

    Raises and maintains blood levels of vitamin D

    In the VITAL trial, 2,000 IU a day raised average blood 25-hydroxyvitamin D from 29.8 to 41.8 ng/mL after one year among the 1,644 participants who had repeat blood tests, while levels on placebo barely changed. NIH notes that vitamin D3 raises blood levels more, and keeps them up longer, than vitamin D2. [2][1]

  • Moderate evidence

    Helps the body absorb calcium and maintain normal bones

    This is vitamin D's best-established role and the basis of official intake recommendations. It matters most when intake and sun exposure are low. In adults who mostly had adequate levels already, extra vitamin D gave no added benefit for bones: VITAL tested 2,000 IU a day in 25,871 people for about five years and found no difference from placebo. [1][8][3]

  • Moderate evidence

    Contributes to normal muscle function

    Low vitamin D can cause muscle weakness, and 'contributes to the maintenance of normal muscle function' is a nutrient-function statement permitted in the EU. Extra vitamin D has not improved strength in trials: a pooled analysis of 54 placebo-controlled trials (8,747 people) found no benefit for muscle strength or physical performance, and a three-year trial of 2,000 IU a day in 2,157 adults aged 70 and over found no gain in physical performance. Read this as a reason not to run low, not as a strength aid. [1][8][6][7]

  • Moderate evidence

    Contributes to normal immune function

    NIH lists immune function among vitamin D's roles, and 'contributes to the normal function of the immune system' is a permitted nutrient-function statement in the EU. Whether supplements help people get through the year with fewer respiratory illnesses is unsettled: the latest pooled analysis, covering 40 trials and 61,589 people, found a small effect that was not statistically significant. [1][8][5]

Strong evidence: many human trials agree, at the amount in this product. Moderate evidence: human trials mostly agree, but they are small, short or mixed. Early evidence: a few small human studies or lab work. Promising, not proven.

Safety

Who it is for, and who should ask first

Good fit if

  • Adults who get little sun on their skin: indoor workers, people who cover up, anyone in the darker months
  • People with darker skin, who make less vitamin D from sunlight
  • Older adults, whose skin makes vitamin D less efficiently
  • People who eat little fatty fish or vitamin D fortified food
  • Adults with a higher body weight, who tend to have lower vitamin D levels
  • Anyone whose doctor has found a low vitamin D level

Ask your doctor first if

  • You are pregnant or nursing
  • You are under 18
  • You have high blood calcium, kidney disease, kidney stones or an overactive parathyroid gland
  • You take a thiazide water pill, a statin, steroid tablets or orlistat
  • You have a digestive condition that limits fat absorption or have had weight-loss surgery
  • You have a soy allergy (the softgel contains soybean oil)
  • You already take a multivitamin, calcium with vitamin D, cod liver oil or prescription vitamin D

Interactions

  • Thiazide diuretics (water pills such as hydrochlorothiazide) reduce calcium loss in urine. Combined with vitamin D they can push blood calcium too high, mainly in older adults and people with kidney or parathyroid problems.
  • Statins: high vitamin D intakes might reduce the effect of atorvastatin, lovastatin and simvastatin, because they share a metabolizing enzyme.
  • Steroid tablets such as prednisone can reduce calcium absorption and impair vitamin D metabolism.
  • Orlistat (Xenical, alli) can reduce the absorption of vitamin D.
  • Other supplements with vitamin D add to your total. See the stacking note.

Possible side effects

  • Side effects are uncommon at this dose. In VITAL, 2,000 IU a day for about five years caused no more high blood calcium, kidney stones or stomach complaints than placebo.
  • Too much vitamin D over time raises blood calcium. Signs include nausea, vomiting, muscle weakness, loss of appetite, great thirst, passing a lot of urine and kidney stones. This comes from excess intake, not from one softgel a day.

Upper limit

100 mcg (4,000 IU) a day from all sources for adults and for children aged 9 and over (US National Academies, as listed by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements). One softgel is half of that. NIH notes that signs of toxicity are unlikely below 250 mcg (10,000 IU) a day, but also that intakes below the upper limit might have adverse effects over time and that blood levels above about 50 ng/mL (125 nmol/L) should be avoided.

Combining with our other products

Vitamin D is in four other products in this line: Immune Support (40 mcg), Ashwagandha Complex (20 mcg), Men's Multi (10 mcg) and Chocolate Plant Protein (2 mcg per serving). The adult upper limit is 100 mcg a day from all sources, and food adds about 4 to 5 mcg a day on average. Daily totals with one softgel of Vitamin D3 (50 mcg): with Men's Multi, 60 mcg.

With Ashwagandha Complex, 70 mcg. With both of those, 80 mcg. With Immune Support, 90 mcg, which leaves almost no room for food.

With Immune Support and Men's Multi, 100 mcg, the limit itself before food is counted. With Immune Support and Ashwagandha Complex, 110 mcg, over the limit. All four together, 120 mcg, over the limit.

The simple rule: take Vitamin D3 or Immune Support, not both.

Lab reports

What the lab report covers

We hold the manufacturer’s lab report for a production lot of this product. It reports on the manufacturer’s own lot, not on the container you receive. This is what it covers and what it leaves out.

Vitamin D3 content is measured.

See every product’s lab report

Strength of the main ingredient
Measured
Identity test
Not reported
Heavy metals
Measured
Microbes
Tested
Lab named on the report
No
Latest report
August 2026

Answers

Questions people ask

Is 2,000 IU a day too much?

Not for most adults: it is half the upper limit of 4,000 IU. It is more than the recommended 600 to 800 IU, and current guidelines do not advise healthy adults under 75 to take more than the recommended amount for extra health benefits. It makes most sense if you get little sun or your level has tested low.

Will it make my bones stronger?

Vitamin D is needed to absorb calcium and keep bones normal, so running low is bad for bones. But in a five-year trial of this exact dose in nearly 26,000 adults, most of whom had adequate levels, it did not reduce broken bones. Expect it to prevent a shortfall, not to add strength beyond that.

Does vitamin D boost the immune system?

Vitamin D plays a part in normal immune function. Trials testing whether supplements cut the number of respiratory illnesses have gone back and forth, and the most recent large pooled analysis found no clear protection. We do not claim it stops you getting sick.

Should I get a blood test first?

You do not have to. The Endocrine Society's 2024 guideline suggests against routine testing in healthy adults, and the US Preventive Services Task Force found too little evidence to recommend screening. Testing makes sense if your doctor suspects a problem. If you are tested, NIH considers 20 ng/mL (50 nmol/L) or more adequate for most people.

What is the difference between vitamin D2 and D3?

Both raise blood levels of vitamin D. According to NIH, D3 raises them more and keeps them up longer. This product uses D3, also called cholecalciferol.

When should I take it?

Any time of day, once a day. Fat in the gut improves absorption and the softgel already contains oil, so taking it with a meal is a sensible habit, but some is absorbed even without fat.

Is it vegetarian, and does it contain allergens?

It is not vegetarian: the softgel shell is gelatin, and vitamin D3 is typically made from lanolin from sheep's wool. The fill contains soybean oil and corn oil. If you have a soy allergy, check with your doctor before taking it.

Can I take it with Men's Multi or Immune Support?

With Men's Multi, yes: together they give 60 mcg, under the 100 mcg limit. With Immune Support we advise against it: the two give 90 mcg before food, and adding either Men's Multi or Ashwagandha Complex takes you to the limit or past it.

Read the studies

Sources

  1. 1.National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Vitamin D: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Updated June 27, 2025. Open source (opens in a new tab)Vitamin D promotes calcium absorption and is needed for bone, muscle and immune function; adults need 15 to 20 mcg a day, 20 ng/mL or more is adequate for most people, the upper limit is 100 mcg, and trials have not shown added benefit from extra vitamin D in people with adequate levels.
  2. 2.Manson JE, et al. Vitamin D Supplements and Prevention of Cancer and Cardiovascular Disease. N Engl J Med. 2019;380(1):33-44. Open source (opens in a new tab)In 25,871 US adults, 2,000 IU of vitamin D3 a day for a median of 5.3 years raised blood levels by about 40% but did not improve the trial's main health outcomes, and caused no excess of high blood calcium or kidney stones.
  3. 3.LeBoff MS, et al. Supplemental Vitamin D and Incident Fractures in Midlife and Older Adults. N Engl J Med. 2022;387(4):299-309. Open source (opens in a new tab)In the same 25,871 VITAL participants, 2,000 IU a day gave no added benefit for bones compared with placebo.
  4. 4.Demay MB, et al. Vitamin D for the Prevention of Disease: An Endocrine Society Clinical Practice Guideline. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2024;109(8):1907-1947. Open source (opens in a new tab)Suggests against vitamin D above the recommended intake for healthy adults under 75 and against routine blood testing, and suggests supplementation for ages 1 to 18, over 75 and pregnancy.
  5. 5.Jolliffe DA, et al. Vitamin D supplementation to prevent acute respiratory infections: systematic review and meta-analysis of stratified aggregate data. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol. 2025;13(4):307-320. Open source (opens in a new tab)Pooling 40 trials with 61,589 participants, vitamin D did not significantly change how often people fell ill (odds ratio 0.94, 95% CI 0.88 to 1.00), reversing the small significant effect seen in earlier versions of the analysis.
  6. 6.Bislev LS, Grove-Laugesen D, Rejnmark L. Vitamin D and Muscle Health: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Randomized Placebo-Controlled Trials. J Bone Miner Res. 2021;36(9):1651-1660. Open source (opens in a new tab)Across 54 trials and 8,747 people, vitamin D supplements did not improve muscle strength or physical performance and were slightly worse than placebo on two measures.
  7. 7.Bischoff-Ferrari HA, et al. Effect of Vitamin D Supplementation, Omega-3 Fatty Acid Supplementation, or a Strength-Training Exercise Program on Clinical Outcomes in Older Adults: The DO-HEALTH Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA. 2020;324(18):1855-1868. Open source (opens in a new tab)In 2,157 adults aged 70 and over, 2,000 IU of vitamin D3 a day for three years gave no significant benefit for blood pressure, physical performance or cognitive function.
  8. 8.European Commission. Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012 of 16 May 2012 establishing a list of permitted health claims made on foods. Official Journal of the European Union, L 136, 25.5.2012, p. 1. Open source (opens in a new tab)After EFSA review, permits statements that vitamin D contributes to normal absorption of calcium and phosphorus, the maintenance of normal bones, the maintenance of normal muscle function and the normal function of the immune system.

Reviewed 2026-10-01. This page is information, not medical advice.

Also in the line

Pairs with Vitamin D3

  • Daily Essentials

    Omega-3

    Fish oil with EPA and DHA from sardines and anchovies.

    Coming soon100 servings

  • Daily Essentials

    Magnesium Glycinate

    275 mg of magnesium from magnesium glycinate.

    Coming soon30 servings

  • Daily Essentials

    Men's Multi

    A daily multivitamin and mineral with no iron.

    Coming soon30 servings

*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.